Friday, March 6, 2015

Enneagram Social and Relationship Roles

Now that you have taken your Enneagram test (if you haven't click here for a free 10 minute version), I am going to share some social and relationship roles that are typical for each type. 

First, check out this circle to see a basic description of your type or sub-types.

If you are familiar with the Myers-Briggs personality indicator then you might find this chart interesting as it relates Myers-Briggs types to Enneagram types.

The Enneagram can be broken down into three groups called the "Triads". 

  1. The Relating Triad experiences the world through their body first, they feel everything in their gut. These are 1,9,8 types.
  2. The Feeling Triad experiences the world through their emotions and feel everything first in their hearts. These are 2,3,4 types.
  3. The Doing Triad experiences the world first through their minds and feel everything first in their heads. These are 7,6,5 types.
The Dialectical Structure of the Triads are where these types seem most over developed or out of touch. 

  • 1's are underdeveloped in relating (to other's)
  • 2's are overdeveloped in feeling (other's feelings)
  • 3's are most out of touch with feeling (their own or others)
  • 4's are underdeveloped in feeling (other's feelings, they feel their own)
  • 5's are underdeveloped in doing
  • 6's are most out of touch with doing
  • 7's are overdeveloped in doing
  • 8's are overdeveloped in relating (to others)
  • 9's are most out of touch with relating (to others)

Descriptions of Each Type
(Don't fear the shadow side)

  1. The Reformer- principled, orderly, perfectionist, and punitive.
  2. The Helper- caring, generous, possessive, manipulative.
  3. The Status Seeker- self-assured, competitive, narcissistic, hostile.
  4. The Artist- creative, intuitive, introverted, and depressive.
  5. The Thinker- perceptive, analytic, eccentric and paranoid.
  6. The Loyalist- likable, dutiful, dependent, and masochistic.
  7. The Generalist- accomplished, impulsive, excessive and manic.
  8. The Leader- self-confident, forceful, combative and destructive.
  9. The Peacemaker- peaceful, reassuring, passive and neglectful.

How each type manipulates others
(manipulation has a negative connotation in our culture but sometimes manipulation is used for the good too)

  1. By correcting others and insisting that others share their standards
  2. By finding out other's needs and desires and creating dependencies.
  3. By charming others and by adopting whatever image will "work"
  4. By being temperamental and making others walk on eggshells.
  5. By staying preoccupied and by detaching emotionally from others.
  6. By complaining and by testing other's commitment to them.
  7. By distracting others and by insisting that other's meet their demands.
  8. By dominating others and demanding that others do as they say.
  9. By "checking out" and by passive-aggressively resisting others.

Wake up Call
This serves as an indicator that we are moving from a healthy range of our type to a more fixated average range.

  1. Feeling a sense of personal obligation to fix everything themselves.
  2. Believing that they must go out to others to win them over.
  3. Beginning to drive themselves for status and attention.
  4. Holding on to and intensifying feelings through the imagination.
  5. Withdrawing from reality into concepts and mental worlds.
  6. Becoming dependent on something outside of self for guidance.
  7. Feeling that something better is available somewhere else.
  8. Feeling that they must push and struggle to make things happen.
  9. Outwardly accommodating themselves to others.
Invitation to Abundance
Living into our strengths we can experience Abundance.

  1. To live for a Higher Purpose- Remember that it is your true nature to be wise and discerning.
  2. To nurture yourself and others- Remember that it is your true nature to be good to yourself and to have goodwill and compassion for others.
  3. To Develop yourself and set and example for others- Remembering that it is your true nature to take pleasure in your existence and to esteem and value others. 
  4. To let go of the past and be renewed by your experience- Remember that it is your true nature to be forgiving and to use everything in life for your growth and renewal.
  5. To observe yourself and others without judgment or expectations- Remember that it is your true nature to be engaged with reality, contemplating the infinite riches of the world.
  6. To have faith in yourself and trust in the goodness of life- Remember it is your true nature to be courageous and capable of dealing with life under all conditions.
  7. To joyously celebrate existence and share your happiness- Remember that it is your true nature to be happy and to add to the richness of experience for everyone.
  8. To stand up for yourself and to speak out for what you believe- Remember it is your true nature to be strong and capable of affecting the world in many different positive ways. 
  9. To bring peace and healing into your world- Remember it is your true nature to be an inexhaustible font of serenity, acceptance and kindness in the world. 
Brought to you by The Enneagram Institute 2005 from The Wisdom of the Enneagram